Principal Investigator

Wei Yan M.D., Ph.D.

University of Nevada, Reno Foundation Professor

Brief Bio

Dr. Wei Yan is Professor of Physiology and Cell Biology at the University of Nevada, Reno School of Medicine. His research is focused on genetic and epigenetic control of fertility, and epigenetic contribution of gametes (sperm and eggs) to fertilization, early embryonic development and adulthood health. He has published >135 peer-reviewed papers with >8,200 citations (as of January 2020). Dr. Yan received many prestigious awards, including the 2009 Society for the Study of Reproduction (SSR) Young Investigator Award, the 2012 American Society of Andrology (ASA) Young Andrologist Award, the 2013 Nevada Healthcare Hero Award for Research and Technology, the 2017 University of Nevada, Reno Outstanding Researcher Award, the 2018 SSR Research Award and the 2020 Nevada System of Higher Education Regents’ Research Award. In May 2016, Dr. Yan was named the University of Nevada Reno Foundation Professor, the highest honor the University bestows upon its faculty. In 2017, he was elected as Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).  Dr. Yan is currently co-Editor-in-Chief of Biology of Reproduction, a premier journal in the field of Reproductive Biology.  He likes hiking, skiing, swimming, and photography. 

Current Lab Members

Kathleen Schegg, PhD


Research Assistant Professor

Dr. Schegg received her M.Sc. and Ph.D. from the Department of Biochemistry at University of Nevada, Reno. She is an expert on protein chemistry and enzymology.  She worked in the Nevada Proteomics Center to conduct proteomic analyses before joining the Yan lab.  Dr. Schegg is working on a project aiming to develop the first ever oral male contraceptive drug, called SD-1. She likes hiking and travel. 

Huili Zheng, MD, PhD


Research Assistant Professor

Dr. Zheng received training on Uterine Biology during her Ph.D. at the University of Turku, Finland and post-doc at the University of Texas Houston Health Science Center.  Dr. Zheng is skillful in embryo manipulation and microinjection, as well as most of the molecular biology techniques. Dr. Zheng likes hiking and swimming.

Zhuqing Wang


 PhD Candidate

Kyle obtained his Bachelor of Science degree in Life Science at Shanxi Normal University. He then earned his Master of Science degree in Animal Science at China Agricultural University. He is a PhD student in Cell and Molecular Biology program.  His hobbies include playing Ping Pong, basketball, and billiards. He enjoys listening to music.

Yue Wang


PhD student

Yue obtained her Bachelor of Science degree in Pharmacy in Fujian Medical University.  Shen then worked as a technician in the National Institute of Biological Science in Beijing for five years.  She is a graduate student in the Cell and Molecular Biology Graduate program. She enjoys dancing, jogging and painting.

Hayden McSwiggin


PhD student

Hayden received his Bachelor of Science in Molecular Microbiology and Immunology at the University of Nevada, Reno. He is currently a graduate student working toward his PhD. Hayden is working on single cell multiomics.  


Hetan Wang


Visiting Post-doc

Hetan graduated from Dalian Medical University with MD degree. She obtained her PhD degree from China Medical University in 2019. She is working on sperm-medicated epigenetic inheritance. 

Brian Prince


PhD Student

Brian is a freshman PhD student in the Cellular and Molecular Biology program at the University of Nevada, Reno. He is working on a project aiming to improve insertion efficiency in CRISPR/Cas-mediated genome editing technology.    

Brianne Hritz


MSc student

Brianne is a student in her Master’s year of an accelerated five-year B.S./M.S. Biotechnology program at the University of Nevada, Reno.  She is working on identification of epigenetic biomarkers for environmental exposures. She enjoys, swimming, traveling, and watching marching band performances. 

Shawn Wang


Undergraduate student

Shawn, a senior with biochemistry major, working on a novel method for determining microRNA targets in vivo. 

You here!


Bioinformatician or 

Post-doctoral associate

We are looking for a bioinformatician and a post-doc working on a project dealing with inter- and trans-generational epigenetic inheritance.  Email Dr. Yan for more details. 

Lab Alumni

Thanks to all former members of the Yan lab  for their devotion and contribution!  


Post-Doctoral Fellow

  • 2017-2019      Yeming Xie, PhD
  • 2015-2018      Hongying Peng, MD, PhD
  • 2014-2017      Chong Tang, PhD
  • 2013-2015      Shuiqiao Yuan, PhD
  • 2013-2015      Daniel Oliver, PhD
  • 2013-2014      Khursheed Iqbal, PhD
  • 2012-2013      Bhupal Bhetwal, PhD
  • 2011-2015      Jian-Qiang Bao, PhD
  • 2011-2012      Chun-wun Lu, PhD
  • 2009-2010    Yonghai Li, PhD
  • 2008-2009   Zeili Lei, PhD
  • 2005-2009   Chanjae Park, PhD
  • 2005-2007  Jingling Jin, PhD

Graduate Student

  • 2018-2019       Sateesh Peri 
  • 2015-2018       Rachel Klukovich 
  • 2014-2018       Tian Yu 
  • 2012-2016       Andrew Schuster  
  • 2011-2014       Keegan Idler
  • 2012-2014      Nicole Ortogero PhD 
  • 2011-2016       Ying Zhang 
  • 2011-2019       Zong-Liang Chang
  • 2008-2011     Jiachen Li 
  • 2008-2010    Jianqiang Bao 
  • 2008              Benjamin F. Stump 
  • 2007-2012     Qiuxia Wu  
  • 2011                Stephnie Marvis 
  • 2010               Kristina Coger  
  • 2007             Jason Michaels 
  • 2007             Anita Batra 
  • 2006-2011     Rui Song 
  • 2006             Myra Godfrey 
  • 2005-2011     Shouhua Wang 
  • 2004-2005   Alan O’Doherty 

Undergraduate Student

  • 2018-present  Kalysta Branco
  • 2018-present  Kathleen Zayac
  • 2018-present  Charissa Alo
  • 2018-prrsent  Savanah Bloomquist
  • 2016-present  Shawn Wang
  • 2016-present  Brianne Hritz
  • 2016-present  Kimberly Castaneda-Garcia
  • 2017-2018       Dayton Morris
  • 2017-2018       Phoeby Yang 
  • 2014-2015       Luis Scot Fonseca
  • 2015-2017       Sandy Lee
  • 2014-2018       Hayden McSwiggin
  • 2013-2015       Connor Riordan
  • 2012-2014       Ashley Maestas 
  • 2012-2014       Dickson Leung
  • 2010-2012       Logan Pollard
  • 2010-2012      Chad Langille
  • 2009-2011      Jami Bahney
  • 2009-2012      Charles Jose
  • 2007-2008:    Yvette Hollett 
  • 2007-2008:    Scott Cunningham
  • 2007-2008:    Danny Villalobos
  • 2006-2007:    Dora Tafolla
  • 2006-2007:    David Young
  • 2005-2007:    Jonathan Cho
  • 2005-2006:    Dan Nguyen
  • 2004-2005:    Yumiko Esaki
  • 2004-2005:   Joo Yean Baek
  • 2004-2005:    Fiona Kelly
  • 2004-2005:    Ann De Salvo